PDA

View Full Version : A couple of small angle grinder questions

James Goodman
12-09-2022, 1:37 PM
Inexperienced angle grinder owner here....I have an old, cheap single speed, 4.5" Hitachi angle grinder with a side switch that I have used rarely for some cup-brushing of old stationary tools and concrete-beveling on some retaining walls. I never really had a lot of use for angle grinder when I worked as a carpenter/millwork shop owner, but I am going to have more use for one with the various jobs I need/want to do around my house and property. I want to get a good, versatile grinder and I really want it to be variable speed to help my ability to control it better. In the little bit of concrete beveling I did, it was clear that being able to slow it down would have helped in producing a better result, and I'm in no big rush anymore on any job I do, and variable speed control would definitely be best for me. But, it seems that any "variable speed" small angle grinders that I've researched do not seem to have trigger-controlled variable speed....like the type of speed control you have with a variable speed drill. I would think that type of control would be possible with a "rattail" type configuration. But from what I've seen, the "variable speed" is always a wheel that will increase or lower the grinder's speed, but it results in a greater or lower FIXED speed that is turned on or off by the control switch. Are there any small angle grinders out there that have the type of speed control that I'm looking for? And please also explain the plusses and minuses of the 3 types of switches....slide thumb swith, paddle switch and rattail. Thanks.

lou Brava
12-09-2022, 4:12 PM