PDA

View Full Version : First project - cradle

Nathan Yeager
01-25-2006, 5:44 PM
I have spent many hours benefitting from this site, and would like to show my first project. I am very new to woodworking, and have appreciated greatly the help you all have provided to me indirectly.

First, I must say thanks for the inspiration for my project. I hope you agree that imitation is the greatest form of flattery.
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=2801

I learned a great deal on this project. The following being key to me:
1. Patience is a required skill that I must get better at.
2. While noone else can tell, I know the true state of my mortise & tenon joints. I require much more practice.
3. Someone who is a skilled craftsman has not only solved the problems I face, but have documented them for me. While I enjoy developing my own solutions, trust others.

Comments & criticism will be taken to heart, as the remaining furniture for our nursery is currently sitting as rough wood in my shop!

Ed Breen
01-25-2006, 5:57 PM
Nathan,
Your cradle is beutiful! Let me add one story that you might keep in mind over the years. Before my daughter was born in 1971 I built a cradle for her. At that time I had only a drill, hand saw etc. Over the years my grandchildren have used it and now it has been used by over 20 babies of the staff of my company. I keep repairing it and they keep borrowing it!
Many times what we build is not only for the family, but it may serve a wider group.
Ed

Nate Rogers
01-25-2006, 5:59 PM
Nathan,
That is one heck of a first project!! Well done, I can't wait to see the rest of the collection.

Nate

Don Baer
01-25-2006, 6:14 PM
Very Nice work and welcome to the creek.

Bob Noles
01-25-2006, 6:15 PM
Nathan,

"First" project.... yeah.... right:D If that is true, I can hardly wait to see your 6th.

That is a super nice job and such a useful item and keepsake for many years to come.