PDA

View Full Version : Bedside table dresser design

Aaron Liebling
11-18-2022, 2:09 PM
My wife wants new bedside table dressers to match the new bed. They will be sapele and she likes the style shown.

I have a few questions:

1. What should I use for drawer slides (I've never done drawers before).

2. There's no obvious handle. Should I go with a "push to open" drawer slide (which I'm not the biggest fan of..they feel to modern to me) or does anyone have a suggestion for nice, integrated, and hidden pulls?

3. I plan on making the carcass first and then the drawers to fit. Is this the usual process?

Having made cabinets with doors but not drawers before, is there anything in particular I should be aware of? I have a couple of books that walk through drawers, so hopefully that will answer most of the dumb questions.

Thanks as always!

Lee Schierer
11-18-2022, 3:34 PM
I would build the cabinet first and then the drawers. You could make finger pulls with a router that would be flush with the front of the drawers.

andy bessette
11-19-2022, 2:11 AM
Since you are not accustomed to this type of construction, keep it simple. "Push-to-open"? Why? Completely unnecessary and annoying to use.

Hardware store wooden track with the plastic hangar actually work just fine and are extremely simple to install. Hard to go wrong. But are rather utilitarian, if your wife is expecting fine furniture. Same with commercial drawer slides, actually.

The design you've chosen is very simple and straightforward--a good choice. Make the space between the drawers large enough to get fingers in for opening. Or route in some pulls.

By all means build the carcass first.

Jamie Buxton
11-19-2022, 11:12 AM
I'm with Andy on push-to-open drawers. You have to first push the drawer, then move your hand to pull it all the way open. A conventional handle just works better. Another nice thing about visible pulls is that they say "pull here", instead of making you guess.