PDA

View Full Version : LaserPro/Pinnacle laser & AutoCad 2005?

James Fillmore
01-25-2006, 12:40 PM
New here. Been reading alot. Great info. I tried calling the resident Pinnacle tech, Kevin, but he is outta the office on a business trip.

JUST getting my new ZX/Exploerer laser going. I installed the driveres and tried to do a test cut thru AutoCad 2005 and AutoCad locked up. Reinstalled an old version of AutoCad (14) and the software didn't lock up.
Tried Corel 12 and the software didn't lock up.

Does the Explorer driver (V3.51 - the latest) NOT work with AutoCad2005?

Oh and it didn't work with AutoCad 2004 either.

Would hate to have to dxf my cad files then plot them with another software package. UGH. I have been using a ULS laser for 5 years plotting right from AutoCad. Even 2004 and 2005.

Jim A. Walters
01-25-2006, 3:27 PM
I read in the M-Series manual that you can print from AutoCAD directly to the laser using HPGL plotter language and bypass the windows driver. The colors and power levels are manually set on the laser's control panel.

I usually work with small CAD files to cut legends or control panels. I always bring the CAD file into Corel to print. I end up redrawing the CAD in Corel a lot! Let's hope X3 works better with CAD files than previous versions.

You can also call Eddie LaRue at Signwarehouse at extension 2756.

James Fillmore
01-26-2006, 11:35 AM
Thanks Jim.

Pinnacle called back this AM and said AutoCad 2005 DOESN'T work with thier engravers. Said only up to 2002. UGH. I asked if they were working on a 2005 drvers and he said he hoped they were cause others have been asking also.

I DID get the USB driver setup and working. AutoCad 2005 WILL send a file to the ZX (Pinnacle)/Explorer (GCC/LaserPro) engraver BUT it just moves the X axis all the way to the right then beeps. "Flakes out", just like the Pinnacle tech said.