PDA

View Full Version : Seeking cabinet construction opinion

Jacob Canady
09-29-2022, 10:43 PM
(First off, if I'm in the wrong section please let me know/move the post. Second, I hope my pics are too big...I'll try to resize if so.)

Hello everyone,

Long time reader, first time poster. I've learned quite a bit from several threads and people here and I'm very grateful for all the great information here.

A little backstory as to why I'm seeking opinions on cabinet construction: I just wrapped up a pretty big job for a well-respected contractor I've never done work for before. The remodel was a "squeeze in" type of remodel and called me needing cabinets pretty fast. Knowing his reputation, I couldn't say no. He wanted all prefinished plywood for the boxes, and since he wanted them fast, we just used pocket screws.

We had everything built for him in 2 weeks. Then things went sideways with 2 month delays, changes, etc. We started installing, and after everything got painted, the GC comes in and starts picking apart all sorts of things on the install. Hard not to be devasted when a GC with a reputation like his is picking apart your work. He told me I was making everyone look bad and that really got inside my head!

SO...I'm second guessing every single thing I've done on this project. The upper cabinet construction is keeping me up at night, worrying things will fall apart and come off the wall. Below is a picture of how we build the boxes. We use a 1/4" back with 4" nailers across the top and back. Two pocket screws on each side of the nailer connect to the sides, and the top/bottom are pocket screwed into the nailers as well. No glue, just butt joint pocket screws. Face frames are glued and pocket screwed onto the front.

https://i.imgur.com/aXpHyF2.png