PDA

View Full Version : ROS Recommendations

Robert Waddell
01-23-2006, 10:15 AM
I've been using a pair of PC 333's for two or three years now. They work ok when they work. Every several months they need new bearings. That was fine when I could get them done for half the price of a new unit. I would just rotate them and always have one operational. Now the factory service center wants $50 to change bearings on a $60 sander. Changing out the bearings myself would cost me even more in time. I use a ROS everyday sometimes for hours at a time. Regular replacement with new units may just be a cost of doing business but I wanted to ask you other pro's that work'm hard if you have found a model that will take the abuse of everyday and all day use. I was thinking Bosch or Festool. What's your thoughts?
Thanks for your insight.

Tyler Howell
01-23-2006, 10:28 AM
One word, Festool. Call the SMC Uncle Bob of your choice.:cool:

Charlie Plesums
01-23-2006, 10:29 AM
A friend and full time woodworker had the same problem...wearing out the bearings on the PC. He found that with a little engineering he was able to get the bearing off and install a new one with a screw (had to grind the head of the screw thinner). So he now gets a new bearing for a couple bucks and 5-10 minutes time, good to go for the next year or two.

I have been using the Makita for several years. Built in dust collection is very good, but it doesn't hook to external dust collection.

I have fallen in love with the 1/4 sheet rectangular sanders. They don't come up to an edge as well as a round sander, but they get far closer in the corners. The $50 Ridgid sander at Home Depot (ugh - did I say that?) is a real work horse, and does good dust collection by itself, or hooks to both common hose sizes for external dust collection.