PDA

View Full Version : Need Help with finishing!

Jeffrey Brown
01-23-2006, 8:36 AM
Hello Everyone,
I needed some guidance on how to finish my first major woodworking project. The project is a hallway mirror that I have stained with a water based redwood stain. I have been trying to do some research on the simplest and best ways to finish it. I have come across polycrylic, polyurethane, shellac, varnish, boiled linseed oil, danish oil,... I am new to woodworking and really am a little confused on which route to take. I was looking for something to make the grain stand out and to provide a very low maintenance piece. It would need to flex a little because where the project will finally end up, gets hot and muggy during the summer. If any one could help I would greatly appreciate it. Thank You. Jeff

Jim Becker
01-24-2006, 10:39 AM
Finishing with a wipe-on product will be easiest and it's very forgiving. My favorite finish for decorative pieces like this is BLO followed by shellac, however...or sometimes just BLO and wax if it is a closed grain wood species. (Cherry, for example)

Jeffrey Brown
01-24-2006, 10:45 PM
Could you use BLO over the water based stain? And, does the BLO make the grain stand out? Thank You. :confused:

Joe Chritz
01-25-2006, 12:44 AM
Take a chunk of scrape and try it. I know big help I am but I haven't used any waterbased stains so I can't say. I can say I hardly ever try any finish idea without testing it out first.

Up until now my limited experience has been spraying Pre-cat lacquer. A fantastic, easy to apply, durable and good looking finish. PITA to set up for and you need some special tools.

I recently started using Waterlox original on small projects and am very happy with the results. There are about 1000 threads on the stuff I am sure.

If I did not have a spray set up I would use it for all my projects. A bit pricey but worth it in my opinion.

Post some pics when its done.

Joe

Jim Becker
01-25-2006, 1:23 PM