PDA

View Full Version : Face jointing woes

Tyler Bancroft
08-24-2022, 7:21 PM
I'm a jointer novice and I'm having some trouble with face jointing – my boards usually end up coming out with a bit of a bow in them when face jointing. I'm assuming it's a technique issue, as I've checked the alignment of the cutterhead with the outfeed table and it seems fine, and I also don't have trouble getting a straight edge when I'm edge jointing. Any tips?
Cheers,
Tyler

Kevin Jenness
08-24-2022, 8:14 PM
In terms of technique, get a flat established and then push down on the outfeed table. Some boards have internal stresses that are released when surfacing. I generally get the best results by facing with the convex side down on the jointer. If the piece bows after facing and is too thin to be re-flattened on the jointer I will remove material from the convex face with the thickness planer. Doesn't always work but usually gives the best odds.

Jim Becker
08-24-2022, 8:33 PM
Face jointing has to be done with minimal downward pressure on any board, especially for the first pass or three and from there any pressure...minimal...needs to be just behind the cutterhead on the outfeed side. You push the board through with your right hand and your left hand is merely there to make sure that the board doesn't jump around. If you don't do this, you're not shaving off the high spots and leaving the low spots...which can result in a bow that stays in the board.

Richard Coers
08-24-2022, 9:37 PM
You have the knives a few thousandths higher than the outfield table? After the board is safely over the cutter, move your feed pads to the outfield table side and never go back to the infeed side. Too many TV woodworkers go back and forth over the cutter and that ends up putting a rocking motion in the board. Same goes for a push block used on the infeed side, that's not the way to do it either.

Andrew Hughes
08-24-2022, 9:37 PM