PDA

View Full Version : Shop Made Vacuum Setup

Russell Shelly
08-23-2022, 1:58 PM
Have any of you guys made your own vacuum clamping/bag systems? I was wondering if it would be possible to use a secondhand scientific vacuum pump, or a new one from harbor freight (automotive most likely). I have some knowledge of vacuum in industrial applications, but have never used a vacuum bag or vacuum clamping in the woodshop. Im assuming, a vacuum pump, regardless of the cfm, will be capable of pulling a sufficient vacuum or this type of service, but just will take longer to get there.

I have a homemade Venturi that’s good for draining small engine oil and syphoning liquids, but I don’t have a large air compressor anymore and I assume I’d need a bigger compressor to evacuate a large vacuum bag. Plus I’d prefer the quieter vacuum pump to the loud intermediate size compressor that i have.

Let me know what you guys do and how often you’re using vacuum bags, clamps and presses. If it’s cost effective, I wouldn’t be opposed to spending the time making a setup. I just need some ideas for inspiration. I would like to use more veneering and shop made plywood in my work, so a bag would most likely be the most practical use for vacuum in my shop.

also I’m curious about veneer presses (acme screw style). Who uses those and what do you see as the benefit/drawbacks compared to vacuum bags? I usually make furniture and not really small projects. In my mind, I see veneer presses as more useful for smaller applications, but please correct me if I’m wrong.

Any response is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

John TenEyck
08-23-2022, 2:50 PM