PDA

View Full Version : What am i doing wrong?

Josh Goldsmith
01-23-2006, 12:45 AM
I recently bought a grizzly 8" jointer 1018hw. I have never used a jointer before so i am learning alot. My problem is when i run a piece of wood through the jointer sometimes i get uneven cut. I am sure it is my technique. How do you guys apply pressure to wood as you run it though. I usually get a different cut at the end. Mostly a deeper cut at the end. Do you do a different technique for the length of the piece? Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks

Gary Breckenridge
01-23-2006, 1:00 AM
:cool: I'm guessing its that the outfeed table is not set correctly. Take a steel straight edge and set it on the outfeed table. It should just barely touch the knives when you slowly spin them. (Power off):eek: Start your gradual adjusting from this point.:rolleyes:

Vaughn McMillan
01-23-2006, 2:04 AM
To add to what Gary said, and to answer your question about applying pressure...as soon as it's practical, you should have most of the pressure on the outfeed side. From your description, it does sound like your outfeed table is too low. Once you get it adjusted and get a bit of preactice with it, you'll likely see what I mean about keeping pressure on the outfeed side.

Hope this helps -

- Vaughn

Dan Rider
01-23-2006, 3:08 AM
Agreed with the others -- your outfeed table is too low.

When I first got my jointer, the outfeed was too high, and it cut a taper on the leading edge of the board -- the trailing edge did not cut at all. Your problem is the opposite, suggesting your outfeed is too low.

Be sure to check your that your tables are co-planer (ie. parallel with each other) with a good straightedge to eliminate that as a contributing cause.

Alan Turner
01-23-2006, 5:59 AM