PDA

View Full Version : Is 5 hp really necessary?

Dan Rider
01-22-2006, 3:37 PM
Hi everyone,

I've been lurking here for several months, and finally decided to join. There's a wealth of good information here, and I hope to participate where I can.:o

I've been doing woodworking as an amateur/hobbyist for nearly twenty years, but in the last year or so, I've been getting serious about it. So now it's time to upgrade from my contractor saw to a cabinet saw. I've already decided on the General 350, and I was leaning towards the 3 hp version, but I can't help wondering if I'll regret not getting the 5 hp. I expect to be using this saw for another 20+ years.

If 3 hp is enough, why do PM, Delta and General all offer 5 hp in their 10" cabinet saws?:confused:

BTW, I already have 3 circuits of 240v/20a, and it would be no problem to add a 240v/30a. Electrical supply for either motor is not a problem.

Jim Becker
01-22-2006, 3:41 PM
In most cases, a 3hp cabinet saw is more than sufficient. If you plan on ripping very thick material day-in, day-out, the higher horsepower will have more value and it will for general usage over time. To date, I have not found a need for more power with my 3hp Jet saw...and have never stalled it. Most cabinet saws are 3hp standard. The 5hp is offered, but you'll find a significantly lower percentage of those "on the street".

Welcome to the 'Creek, Dan!!

Nate Rogers
01-22-2006, 3:41 PM
Dan,
First of all let me be the first to welcome you!! As for your question I guess it comes down to what you plan on doing with the saw. I debated this very subject a few months ago, I ended up going for the 5hp delta. All I can say is that you can get by with less power if you need to, but it is real nice not to have to worry about it. If you are going through all the trouble to buy a really nice saw spend the extra and get 5 hp you will never regret it.

Nate

David Abel
01-22-2006, 3:44 PM
Hi everyone,