PDA

View Full Version : when to use the wide belt platen

David Zaret
07-09-2022, 1:43 PM
i have a wide belt with a steel drum and a platen. my thinking has always been to "use the platen for final sanding." recently, a friend told me "no, use the platen for all sanding, except the final pass, which should be the drum only."

what's the science and thinking behind the correct approach? ... and what's correct?

thanks,

-- dz

Erik Loza
07-09-2022, 1:58 PM
I am not an expert on WB’s but was instructed to always use the platen, no matter the task. If you think about it, a WB with no platen is basically a glorified drum sander. Most of the shops I worked with just switched back and forth between felt and graphite platens, depending on the job. I realize this isn’t a clear explanation to your question but using the platen is pretty much SOP in the industry.

Erik

Warren Lake
07-09-2022, 2:05 PM
curious what the logic is behind drum last pass. A drum is one small contact point compared to a platten. Wide belt i have is a drum. Other than for thicknessing my stroke sander blows it away.

Kevin Jenness
07-09-2022, 2:14 PM
The platen is for finishing passes. It lengthens and softens the scratch pattern but runs hotter. Drum only is more aggressive for rapid stock removal.

David Zaret
07-09-2022, 2:42 PM
The platen is for finishing passes. It lengthens and softens the scratch pattern but runs hotter. Drum only is more aggressive for rapid stock removal.

thanks - this is consistent with my thinking as well. guess my friend was wrong.

-- dz

Kevin Jenness
07-09-2022, 3:08 PM
The question is easily tested. Take a moderate cut with the drum, lower the platen as you go and watch the ammeter climb. Now take off an equal, light amount of material sufficient to remove the previous grit scratch pattern using the platen on one sample and the drum only on another. See which one sands out more easily with a random orbit finish sander.