PDA

View Full Version : Oops, I have rust in my air compressor tank!

David Walser
06-29-2022, 5:02 PM
Last year, I got a new 27 gallon air compressor. I try to empty the tank at the end of each day, but most of the time I don't remember that task. I just noticed that I'd left the compressor on for at least a couple of months (another no no) and had never emptied the tank in all that time. (I'm a tax CPA. Things get a little hectic until April 15, when I then focus on all the other client matters that were put off because of tax season.) I just emptied the tank and noticed that the water sprayed out was rust colored. Other than doing a better job of emptying the tank at the end of the day, is there anything else I should be doing?

Tom M King
06-29-2022, 5:15 PM
Every steel compressor tank I have (several) does that.

Thomas Wilson
06-29-2022, 5:28 PM
On my pancake compressor, the drain valve is not at the bottom center of the tank. It is like they designed it to leave a puddle of water even if you drain the tank. I tip the tank to try to get it all. Oh yeah and the water is a bit rusty. I only use the compressor occasionally and drain it after every use.

Bruce Page
06-29-2022, 5:29 PM
I agree with Tom, it’s not a huge problem. That said, I added an automatic drain valve (ADV) to my compressor and have been rust free ever since. The low humidity of Albuquerque helps too. :)
https://sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?17659-Finally-some-air!

Maurice Mcmurry
06-29-2022, 6:04 PM
A rusty tank will eventually kill a common farm and home type horizontal air compressor. I am on my third compressor tank in 40 years. Pro compressors tanks are made with much thicker steel. I hope my next compressor has an auto drain. Being vigilant about draining should help. A pressure vessel made from Chinese steel is a risk I hope I do not have to take.

Ken Fitzgerald
06-29-2022, 6:30 PM