PDA

View Full Version : Rotary Tool Plunge Router Attachment?

James Farrow
01-21-2006, 11:50 AM
I have a Mastercraft Rotary Tool (I believe it's a Dremel clone) and was looking at the Dremel Multipro Plunge Router Attachment.

I need to router out some rectangular slots (2 1/2" by 1" so that the Sawtooth Hanger Hooks will fit inside) on the back of some plaques so they will be flat to the wall when hung up.

First - is the Mastercraft Rotary Tool an exact copy of the Dremel and I can be confident that the Plunge Router Attachment will fit?

If it does fit will this set up work?

The wood is maple and quite hard so am not sure the rotary tool has enough power/bite to do the job.

What router bits would I need for the rotary tool?

As this is probably all I would ever router I am looking at this inexpenve option as apposed to a more expensive solution so any assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks,

James :)

Lee DeRaud
01-21-2006, 2:53 PM
First - is the Mastercraft Rotary Tool an exact copy of the Dremel and I can be confident that the Plunge Router Attachment will fit?

If it does fit will this set up work?

The wood is maple and quite hard so am not sure the rotary tool has enough power/bite to do the job.

What router bits would I need for the rotary tool?I've never seen the Mastercraft, so I don't know if it really is a Dremel. Does it have a plastic collar behind the collet that unscrews to reveal a 1/2" diameter threaded area? If so, the Dremel stuff will probably fit. The Sears Craftsman rotaries are Dremels, the Black and Deckers are definitely not. My suggestion? Buy the attachment at Home Depot: easy to return.

I have that base on a Dremel and it works great. I use it to clean out inlay pockets after my laser is done with them. The springs are a bit too strong, I ended up taking out the one opposite the plunge lock knob...works fine with just one