PDA

View Full Version : Is the 14" Delta lathe a good value?

Tim Pippin
01-19-2006, 8:00 PM
Hi everyone.
I'm new to the creek and wanted some advice. I just sold my jet mini and am looking for a bigger lathe. I am thinking about the jet 1236, delta 14" and the new grizzly with a 14" swing and cast iron legs. Any thoughs?:confused:

Andy Hoyt
01-19-2006, 8:29 PM
Tim - Welcome to the Creek! Hope you like it here.

I don't have an opinion on the machines you noted, but others will be along who surely do. In the meantime, let me ask this question - Are you only considering new machines or would you also entertain the notion of a used one? And if you would consider a used one, advice you receive from the folks here would be more helpful if we knew where you were located. Click the User CP button in the top left corner to add that info.

Again, welcome aboard.

Tim Pippin
01-19-2006, 8:41 PM
Hi, Andy

I live about 45 miles south of Atlanta. I would be interested in a used lathe is anyone has one for sale like a powermatic 45 or Jet.:D

Dick Strauss
01-22-2006, 3:51 AM
Tim,
I bought a new Delta 1440 about 3 months ago for under $450 including taxes/rebates/discounts. I love it so far though I have had a few problems. The headstock and tailstock won't stay put well enough for my tastes. Tightening the nuts doesn't seem to help. I'm considering roughing up the bottoms of the mounts to make them grip better. I also have a loose belt at high speeds. I was told that it may have shipped with the wrong size belt. Delta sent me a new belt but I've been too lazy to install it yet. The 3/4HP motor is probably underated because it takes some very aggressive turning with a large blank before I can stall the motor, even with a slightly loose belt. It definitely needs a ballast box to add some mass. I haven't got to building the box just yet.

Good luck

Tim Pippin
01-22-2006, 12:47 PM
Hi Dick,