PDA

View Full Version : Delta vs Ritter shaper Q's

Nick Crivello
04-07-2022, 5:22 PM
Looking for input on whether to stick with a Delta shaper or go with something more robust.

About 6 months ago I picked up a 3hp delta 43-431 series shaper with Maggi/Steff 0.5hp feeder for a fair price. It had two router bit adaptors but no spindle (?!). Eventually got my hands on the weird 3/4" spindle from Renovo parts, no nuts or lock washer included though. The cartridge/bearing assembly could use a rebuild at some point.

After more research, it seems like I probably should've held out for something a bit more robust with better parts availability and a 1-1/4" spindle. Came across a 2005 7.5hp 3ph Ritter R10125753 that's been sitting on craigslist for a month at $2k obo.

Kinda wondering if I should consider the Ritter or keep going with the Delta. Don't know much about Ritter and parts availability, only that it doesn't look like they're still making shapers.

I'm a hobbyist with a small work space but would like to start furniture builds on a side-gig basis. Potential uses include template profiling, edge work, tenoning, grooves. Not so much doors, floors, molding, and production stuff. Was thinking of starting with a combi head and groover from Whitehill and go from there.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Nick

Mike Kees
04-07-2022, 7:45 PM