PDA

View Full Version : Lie Nielsen honing guide question

James Jayko
04-03-2022, 7:19 PM
Hey all, after years of struggling with the veritas mark II sharpening jig, I just got the Lie Nielsen one and it’s great. I made a projection stop. I have seen folks use a shim to set the depth for the secondary bevel; should I use ~1/8”? Should I just do the secondary bevel at 30 degrees? Any advice here greatly appreciated!

Scott Winners
04-03-2022, 8:41 PM
I hollow grind most irons at 25 degrees on the electric grinder and use the 30 mark on my depth stop for the honing guide.

Matt Hunstiger
04-04-2022, 12:50 AM
I have the Lie Nielsen honing guide too and I also made a board with projection stops. I've been using a 1/8" shim for the secondary bevel on a 25 degree primary bevel, and it seems to work fine. I'm a bit of a beginner though, so I'll be interested to see what others have to say.

Rob Luter
04-04-2022, 5:51 AM
I made a board with projection stops to set the primary angle too. I set stops in 5 degree increments. When I want to add a small secondary bevel I just loosen the guide a bit and back the blade off 1/8". It works great, and since the angle is so small any imprecision due to eyeballing it is irrelevant. The next time I touch it up it's replaced. If I need a perfect 5 degree difference I just reset the blade to the next projection.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51980392182_8d77346b24_b.jpg

Tony Shea
04-04-2022, 10:55 AM
I personally just use 1 stop set for the 30 deg bevel. Once the micro bevel gets too large I just go back to the grinder and re-do the primary. I rarely use any other stops. Once in a while I will break out a bevel up plane to deal with heavy figure and create a 45 deg bevel to get a 57deg planing angle. These days I don't often use those planes. Whatever gets the job done the quickest without compromising the quality of your edge is the answer. I like to spend as little time sharpening as possible.

James Jayko
04-04-2022, 11:03 AM