PDA

View Full Version : Sliding door cornice

Richard Hutchings
03-30-2022, 8:43 AM
My daughter wants me to make these for her 2 sliding doors leading out to the deck. I'm basically following https://www.thisoldhouse.com/windows/21016601/how-to-build-a-window-cornice . My concern is cutting the 45s on these 1x10x80 poplar boards with hand tools. I'm going to make a miter box for the moldings so that shouldn't be an issue. Any tips, I've never done anything like this before. I'm considering rabbit joints if there isn't a good solution for the miters which I prefer even though they'll be painted.

Jim Koepke
03-30-2022, 11:34 AM
Are the miters on the long dimension?

I've done something like this with a plane held in a vise and guides to keep the board steady at a fixed angle. Kind of like an inside out shooting board.

Do you have an edge plane? Mine has holes in the fence edge so an angled fence can be attached to make angled cuts.

Also if you can keep the two boards together and offset you could plane them at as close to 45º as you can. If it isn't exact the boards should still match up to a closed corner as long as you don't have hills and valleys.

jtk

Richard Hutchings
03-30-2022, 12:41 PM
The meters are on the 10" dimension.

Jim Koepke
03-30-2022, 12:49 PM
The meters are on the 10" dimension.

You could rig up something like a miter jack. A temporary shooting board to hold the plane at 45º to the board so the board could be held flat.

jtk

Richard Hutchings
03-30-2022, 1:15 PM
That sounds like good idea.

James Pallas
03-30-2022, 1:55 PM