PDA

View Full Version : laser woodworking question

Jon Eckardt
01-17-2006, 8:30 PM
I am currently researching what types of laser machines are available as I am considering starting a home business doing laser woodworking. I have looked into the EPILOGLASER and it looks pretty good, but I'm new to this.
Any inputs from the experienced would be very helpful.:)
Thanks,
jon

Lee DeRaud
01-17-2006, 8:42 PM
"Woodworking" covers a lot of territory...care to be a bit more specific about your plans? What you're trying to do makes a huge difference in what machine you'll want/need, not to mention whether it's even feasible or not.

Jon Eckardt
01-18-2006, 2:26 PM
:) Sorry about the lack of detail! I'm considering buying a laser machine that I can use, at least initially for lasering wood plaques, boxes, craft type items. I don't envision a high production in the first few years, but I would rather buy a unit that I can grow into vise trading up. I would like to work this "hobby" into a business when I retire in a few years, so I would like to get proficient with the machine and establish myself in the small home business market over the next 2-3 years, so when I do retire, I can get into the business on a more full time basis.
With that said, I am looking for some advice from you veterans as far as what wattage machine would best fit my application. I am considering an EPILOGLASER 36EXT with a 45 watt laser. My biggest question is what are the major differences between the wattages. I feel like getting a middle of the road wattage will most likely do everything I want to donow and in the future. If speed is the biggest difference in power, then what would be a good example of the time/power ratio. I don't want to get too much or too little power. I want to have a physically large machine so that I am not limited too much in the size of the wood that I can fit in the machine.
I would appreciate any help in making my decision.

Jon Eckardt

Ed Lang
01-18-2006, 3:00 PM