PDA

View Full Version : What are the best CNC for a hobby shop

bob pfohler
02-07-2022, 10:17 PM
I had a 4’x8’ ShopBot years ago, it was a decent machine. I have a lot of experience with several machine operating platforms and several CAD and 3D modeling programs so I’m pretty sure I’ll pick up a new system pretty quickly.
I’m thinking about getting another CNC but Im thinking something with a smaller foot print. I’ve haven’t looked into a CNC in several years so I’m not really sure what’s out there right now.
What are some of the better machines out there?

ChrisA Edwards
02-07-2022, 11:21 PM
What's your budget?

That's like saying I want to buy a sports car, Miata or Ferrari or Bugatti?

David Buchhauser
02-08-2022, 2:51 AM
For a hobby machine I like the Avid CNC tables. I own several of them and am very happy with how they perform for me. Cost was around $12k when I purchased the last on - a Pro4848. Many here like the Camaster tables. I'm sure you will get lots of suggestions later today.
David

bob pfohler
02-08-2022, 6:37 AM
Have you ever gone to buy a car and spent more then originally intended. I’m looking for reliable brands with good support.

George Yetka
02-08-2022, 8:09 AM
Avid and camaster seem to get the most praise for support here.

Price does make a huge difference though, and "hobby" is subjective.

3k gets you a onefinity that has some great features similar to a higher priced unit
5K gets you into an Avid benchtop 2x2
7K-8k gets you into a Camaster/Hammer/Axiom 2x3/2x4
10k Gets you into beefier 2x4 units with bigger spindles maybe tool changers
12 and up is where Id say your into a more commercial unit

bob pfohler
02-08-2022, 9:17 AM
Avid and camaster seem to get the most praise for support here.

Price does make a huge difference though, and "hobby" is subjective.

3k gets you a onefinity that has some great features similar to a higher priced unit
5K gets you into an Avid benchtop 2x2
7K-8k gets you into a Camaster/Hammer/Axiom 2x3/2x4