PDA

View Full Version : Router in TS wing

John Gregory
01-17-2006, 5:59 PM
I am trying to decided whether to move my router to my TS wing or not. The reason is to make some room for a stand for my Drum sander.
My question is for those of you that have a router in your TS wing. What are the pros and cons? If shop space was not an issue, I believe that it would be nice to have every device on it's own stand. But most of us have limited shop space. I have two options

1. Build an flip top stand for my Planer and the Drum sander.
2. Place the router in the TS wing and the Drum sander will have it's own stand.

What are your thoughts?
Thanks in advance.

John

scott spencer
01-17-2006, 6:08 PM
Hi John - I've been using TS mounted RTs for a couple of years now to save space...that's the primary incentive. It's also easy to use the main fence as a subfence, plus there's the advantage of having some extra table space for the saw when the router's not in use. The downside is storage and DC, but I built a roll in cabinet for mine that helps with DC and adds a little storage. If I had the space I'd go with a free standing RT, but I don't, so the saw mounted RT is working out pretty well.

Earl Reid
01-17-2006, 7:20 PM
Hi, John
I've had 2 routers in my TS for many years and it works out very well, I seldom use the one on the right side. It saves some room in the shop.
Earl

Mike Henderson
01-17-2006, 10:24 PM
I have my router mounted in the wing of my table saw. I have a tiny shop (about 117 square feet) so I really had no option. I've used regular router tables and see no operational disadvantage to having the router as part of the table saw - in fact, the large space of the table saw top is nice. The only issue is that I can only use one at a time. If I'm in the middle of routing and need to cut some more wood, I generally have to tear down the router setup to do the cut.

All-in-all, I'm quite happy with the setup.

Mike

Guy Germaine
01-18-2006, 7:21 AM