PDA

View Full Version : Lining Cherry Chest with Aromatic Red Cedar

Bob McBreen
02-04-2022, 10:14 AM
Building a blanket chest that needs to be lined aromatic red cedar. The chest 44"x20"x19" and material is 3/4". I have never used this wood before and looking for any tips about thickness and how best to attach to the cherry. My plan is to have the cedar run in the same orientation as the cherry.

Thanks for your help - Bob

glenn bradley
02-04-2022, 10:20 AM
I used 1/4" panels milled similar to a typical cabinet back. 1/4" can be delicate for T&G. I went with 1/8" x 3/8" lap joints with and 1/8" gap.

Malcolm McLeod
02-04-2022, 12:21 PM
Building a blanket chest that needs to be lined aromatic red cedar. ...

I've built 2 and made only the bottom out of 3/4 cedar. I do it - even in this partial coverage - because I think people (and myself) like the smell and tradition. (Looks good too, until users fill it.)

I've also read references that moth-proofing via cedar is a myth (I suspect this will result in a electron brawl here), so I've not lost any sleep over my leaving treasured keepsakes semi-naked to attack by moths.

Maybe we need a moth poll? Is it the smell or the taste that repels you?

Never tried full lining, and don't know the differential expansion between the 2 wood types, but if the resulting differential is more than ~1/8" across the grain, I'd probably use no glue, but rather fixed SS screws thru the cedar at the top edge, then slot the cedar and screw it in at the bottom as well. Cut a ~3/16" rabbet on the bottom edge of the cedar panels and a matching 1/4" dado in the bottom panel - the side panel can then expand down into the bottom - leaving no gap for the evil-chewers.

Richard Coers
02-04-2022, 12:23 PM
I buy the 5/16" cedar tongue and groove closet lining boards from the box store and pin it to the cherry. No glue

Mike Henderson
02-04-2022, 1:06 PM