PDA

View Full Version : Help with turning resin

Mitch schiffer
01-27-2022, 2:03 PM
I was turning some resin and It broke apart on me. Im pretty new to turning and very new to turning resin. Can anyone provide some advice on how this may have happened. I was using a carbide finishing tool from easy wood tools with a fresh edge. The second it touched the resin this happened. I did have a face shield on and was not injured. I was using a vacuum chuck turning at about 1000 rpm with the tool rest about a 1/2" away and about a 1/2" below center. I was pretty sure the the tool was in contact with the rest before the workpiece.

David Walser
01-27-2022, 2:21 PM
Been there. Done that. Didn't get a t-shirt.

Mitch -- There are a lot of possible causes for what happened. Some resins are more brittle than others. Polyester resins are notorious for being chippy. Alumalite Clear and Clear Slow are urethane casting resins. They turn well and are less prone to chipping. There are a number of different epoxy resins that are used by one or more turners. Each turns differently.

In addition to the resin type, the quality of the mix and pour can alter the way the resin will turn. Generally, waiting until the resin has fully cured -- which may be days after it has hardened to the touch -- is a good idea.

Next is the way in which the resin is turned. Resins, in general, respond very well to scraping cuts made with a negative rake scraper. You can try to make a bevel supported cut, but, in general, the friction from the bevel will heat up the resin, softening it. That can cause poor cut quality, but not the kind of chip out you're seeing. So, use a negative rake scraper (which includes Easy Wood Tools new carbide inserts with a negative rake profile), take very light cuts, and cut on center. That will give you the best chance for success.