PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly 1023RLW vs Harvey Alpha HW110TC-36P

Jim Luton
01-24-2022, 6:13 PM
I have to order a new TSaw very soon, and I'm torn between these 2 saws. I was sorry to hear about Chris Sonego's trials and tribulations with his Grizzly purchase, as I had just about decided on the 1023 as a solid, very basic machine. The Harveys look nice, with what appear to be good features, but I've never seen one in person, and there's precious little feedback out there. As a point of reference, I'm a retired professional woodworker, just relocated to rural Va. I spent the last 35 years in NYC as a custom woodworker. My last industrial saw was a Felder KF700S, but I worked on Altendorfs, Martins, and of course Unisaws, etc. I now have a small 24 x 27 shop, and a basic cabinet saw will suit me fine.

So, any opinions out there regarding the two, including shipping issues? The Harvey is a little more $$ and shipping is more also. I have had two Grizzly 17" bandsaws, which compared very favorably to my Minimax MM16 at 1/3 the price. Good, basic machines.

Thanks very much in advance!

Charles Coolidge
01-24-2022, 7:50 PM
Started liking the Harvey but then looked at the trunnions.

Chris Sonego
01-24-2022, 9:19 PM
What’s the problem with the trunion mounting bolts?

Jim Luton
01-24-2022, 9:31 PM
Started liking the Harvey but then looked at the trunnions.

Charles, are you saying that the Harvey trunnion mounting is too narrow? The Grizz spreads the load out to the 4 corners of the cabinet? I took a look at the exploded parts diagram, and it looks like that is the case. The 4hp Harvey has a different trunnion which looks wider. It also has a vertical lift via dovetail ways rather than the typical worm drive. Its about the same price (for a short while) as the 3hp version, but a month longer back order.
Thanks for your input.

Patrick Kane
01-24-2022, 10:32 PM