PDA

View Full Version : Hand Saw Techniques

Robert Goodwin
02-20-2003, 11:56 AM
I am new to the hand tool world, but I seem to be hooked already. LOML got me a LN dovetail saw for Christmas because I had it circled in a catalog I leave laying around ;) .

Anyway my question is what is the proper technique used for sawing. I have been having problems getting a clean start, and have been having the saw stop on my during the cuts. I am not applying any downward pressure ( atleast I think I am not )

So far my dovetails are not the most beutiful thing to see, but I am having a blast trying.

Thanks,
Rob Goodwin( Former Pond Lurker )

Tom Scott
02-20-2003, 2:04 PM
Robert,
A couple of hints from my limited experience:
1. For starting a cut (on dovetails) - I find it easiest to attack the wood at an angle. In other words, don't have the saw flat on the top of the wood, but rather on the front edge only. I take about a half stroke (or less) back to start a groove before starting the forward cutting stroke. If it is stopping at this point you are probably applying too much pressure. At the most, all you need is the weight of the saw. If it is still stopping, try lifting just a tad to take some pressure off.
2. If it is stopping in the middle of a cut, you are most likely twisting the saw. The L-N has a very small kerf and any little twist will cause the saw to bind. However, after a little more experience you'll discover this is a good thing since this is also the reason the saw tracks so well (in a straight line). Once you start a cut don't try to change the saw's direction. Either go with it and make adjustments to the next cut, or back it out and start a ner saw kerf in the correct location.

I have the L-N and it is a nice saw. With a little practice, you'll be cutting respectable dovetails in no time.

Good Luck,
Tom (who just started dovetailing 8 drawers for my bench cabinet)

Chris Knight
02-21-2003, 3:49 AM