PDA

View Full Version : 12/31/1999

Rich Engelhardt
12-31-2021, 1:48 PM
I was on call.

I worked in IT.

Only one call came in near midnight. It was from the Ohio Lottery. I called them to see what the problem was, but, the person that placed the after hours holiday emergency call ($250) had left ang gone home.

Whoopee!!! I made an easy $50 just for taking that call.

Looking back on Y2K....

mike stenson
12-31-2021, 1:53 PM
I was doing systems engineering and change control. We watched what happened in Australia, then had a party that night.

I was also on call.

glenn bradley
12-31-2021, 1:59 PM
1999 was a banner year in I.T. Some genius got the story (which is true in many cases) rolling. Neckties around conference tables understood little of "that computer stuff" and made blanket decisions. We flew all over the country certifying equipment as Y2K compliant. We were honest with our customer base when they wanted equipment certified that couldn't have been effected. Trying to explain things to most folks triggered the onset of MEGLO (my eye glaze over) and we would finish the conversation with nothing changed. The blanket ruling (the easy decision for the lazy) was that ALL I.T. hardware be certified. Between this and the already rolling internet explosion it was a great time to be a geek.

I don't remember ever not being on call . . . even when I wasn't on call :D

Lisa Starr
12-31-2021, 3:18 PM
Yep. I was a programmer that could "do" COBOL. Does that show my age? I wrote code during most of 1999 to update old code that prefixed dates with the 19. Some people still wanted me to just change it to prefix with the "20". I tried in vain to get them to let me adjust it to a four position year. Of course, I imagine most of that code is long gone now.

Kev Williams
12-31-2021, 4:12 PM
Was working in this basement in 1999- just like this very minute, and, 2019, 2009, 1989, 1979 ;)

For Xmas that year some friends gave us this countdown clock: