PDA

View Full Version : Half-Round Router Bit - What Am I Doing Wrong?

Matt Culik
12-18-2021, 11:46 PM
I have a 3/4" half-round router bit WITHOUT a guide bearing. I'm trying to put a bull nose on a 3/4" piece of birch plywood that's going to be used as a painted shelf. Was doing some test cuts and am losing my mind trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong. This is my first time using this kind of bit.

I have it mounted in my router table and the height seems perfect. HOWEVER...

I'm trying to do small passes like I normally do, but am finding that when the workpiece comes out the finished side of the router bit, it's no longer against the (straight/planar) fence. This isn't a problem for the first half of the work piece, but things become unstable towards the end and I keep gouging my workpiece.

It seems like my only option is to make the bullnose in one, full-depth pass where the center/deepest part of the router bit recess is flush with the fence.

Am I thinking about this correctly? That's a lot of material to remove in one pass!

Thanks in advance!

Mel Fulks
12-19-2021, 12:15 AM
My guess is you are cutting on a plywood edge. It would be better to glue a strip of real ,solid wood onto the plywood. That will make a
much smoother surface .

Greg Quenneville
12-19-2021, 5:28 AM
I think you could do it in one pass, but the surface finish may suffer. I use a round straight rod* helpful to align the fence to bullnose cutters to minimise snipe on the trailing end.

*never discard a dead printer without salvaging the ground round rods inside. Very useful things.

Mike Burke
12-19-2021, 6:18 AM