PDA

View Full Version : Pocket Holes & MDF

Carroll Courtney
12-11-2021, 4:46 PM
Guys I have about a 6' section of wainscoting to build which about 3' high. Since HD has MDF 1x6's already primed I was thinking about using MDF. But I have never tried pocket holes on MDF before, I also going to use glue to help hold it together till nail it to wall. No raise panels just a 1/4 birch plywood for the back panel. Not wanting to invest a lot into this just kinda pretty it up little to put house on market I hope next year.

Steve Jenkins
12-11-2021, 5:50 PM
I’ve used pocket hole joinery on some mdf cabinets in my laundry room and it worked fine. Used coarse screws and be careful not to strip them.

Warren Lake
12-11-2021, 6:54 PM
Pocket holes are illegal in canada

glenn bradley
12-11-2021, 6:57 PM
I’ve used pocket hole joinery on some mdf cabinets in my laundry room and it worked fine. Used coarse screws and be careful not to strip them.

Here too. A few tests to get a good clutch setting on your driver speeds things along.

And I thought California was the king of oddball restrictions ;-)

Jim Becker
12-11-2021, 7:12 PM
Coarse pocket hole screws and don't over-drive them. Works fine.

Doug Garson
12-11-2021, 11:46 PM

Should I be concerned that the RCMP will be raiding my shop?

Warren Lake
12-12-2021, 12:52 AM
yes

these are the men and woman that will visit your shop, They came here and tried to find a Kreg jig. After and hour they gave up then started to look for a domino machine then they realized I was a dinasour and they left.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXd3gWi93DA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCrnDkE5A-I (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXd3gWi93DA)

Carroll Courtney
12-12-2021, 7:17 AM
Lots of good answers and some humor, thanks guys coarse screws and don't drive them to much.
SMC is best

Howard Rosenberg
12-13-2021, 3:07 PM
Pocket holes are great.

They’ll work just fine - just use the others’ advice.