PDA

View Full Version : Machine tool painting

Rob Will
01-14-2006, 12:38 PM
I am Looking for advice on painting a powermatic 225 planer. This particular machine is the gold color from the late 1990's. (not really my favorite) What type of paint would you use? (OEM, aftermarket).
I have an automotive style paint room.

Thanks,
Rob

Jim Becker
01-14-2006, 1:22 PM
I'm no expert on this, but the Hammerite stuff is pretty interesting from a machine tool perspective.

Bruce Page
01-14-2006, 2:20 PM
I have painted a couple of machines using Rust-Oleum “High Performance Protective Enamel”. It’s an oil based enamel that’s pretty tough. I don’t know if you can get it in Powermatic’s baby ka-ka gold though, (I have two machines that color).

James Boster
01-14-2006, 2:54 PM
Rob, I see you bought the 225. If it is gold then yes it is a later model. I don't care for the gold that much either. Mine is the older green and I found that rustoleum green "hammerite"sp? is an exact match to the powermatic green. Let's here some more details about your planer, hp,type of cutterhead, condition, and by all means how good a deal did you get on it? And as several others here on the creek will probably tell you it's not real deal without pictures.:D If you have any questions about the planer just ask. go to owwmachines.com and download a manual for it, it will guide thorugh setup and adjustments. Congrats.

James Boster
01-14-2006, 3:00 PM