PDA

View Full Version : xacta fence 1 friction pad question for newb

Thomas Charles Williams
08-05-2021, 7:21 PM
Just bought a Jet Jtas-10xl-1 cabinet saw with the original xacta fence. I can see where the fence is rubbing the table a little to the right of the blade. I got a parts blow up from jet and I can see where I'm missing a pad on the fence, I can't find the part online, haven't tried Jet. Any idea what thickness(1/8?) . Also the side table to the right is a little lower than the wing, I can't figure how to level it without removing the fence. Total newb here, but I'm almost 60. Upgrading from Ryobi bt 300 that I bought new many years ago. Btw, the pads on the front( user side) of the fence seem good. Can I just raise the front of the fence with the nylon screws once I put the rear pad on?

Thanks
Tom

Chris Luke
08-05-2021, 9:49 PM
Just bought a Jet Jtas-10xl-1 cabinet saw with the original xacta fence.
I have that saw and love it. Some quirks, but nothing unmanagable.

I can see where the fence is rubbing the table a little to the right of the blade. I got a parts blow up from jet and I can see where I'm missing a pad on the fence, I can't find the part online, haven't tried Jet. Any idea what thickness(1/8?) .

If you mean the pad at the back of the fence, the thickness doesn't matter all that much, but yes it's about 1/8". I would try Jet's parts store, it has been responsive for me, but failing that some sort of HDPE slippery material would do the job just fine.

Also the side table to the right is a little lower than the wing, I can't figure how to level it without removing the fence.

Do you mean the cast iron wing, or the "wooden" extension wing? The wooden one is supported between the front and rear rails with screws/nuts. Technically you would need to remove the front fence rail tube to reach the heads, but I've found you can just about hold the heads stationary and manage the nuts from behind.