PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice re: Crown Bowl Gouge

Sam Chambers
01-11-2006, 9:51 PM
I'm a relative newbie to turning, having done nothing but spindle work so far (pens, candlesticks). Santa was nice enough to bring me a chuck for my Delta Midi Lathe, so I've been thinking about trying some small bowls. I don't have a bowl gouge, and saw this Crown 1/2" deep flute bowl gouge (http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?FamilyID=412)on Woodcraft's web site. The price looks right, but since I don't know anything about bowl gouges, I thought I'd better ask the experts here.

What do y'all think? Too big? Too small? Crown makes good quality stuff, don't they?

Jim Becker
01-11-2006, 10:08 PM
Crown is a good tool. I generally don't like their "regular" bowl gouges, however...the flute profile isn't what I like. However, the Ellsworth grind bowl gouge by Crown is a keeper...I have two; one in the regular metal that I bought from David directly, and the PM version I bought last year to add an additional one so I can have more time between sharpenings when working with stubborn and abrasive materials. (The calcite in spalted wood will knock down an edge really quickly)

The 1/2" size is fine, although you might also consider starting with a 3/8".

Jim Ketron
01-11-2006, 10:23 PM
I have some Crown PM Bowl gouges a 5/8 and a 3/8 Not used the 3/8 yet still in the package. I just got the regular and put my own side grind profile on it. Its the same gouge but about $20 cheaper than the Ellsworth :D I also like my 3/8 sorby it really gives a good cut also

Greg Savage
01-11-2006, 10:28 PM
I'm kinda partial to the Glaser V-15 Deep bowl gouges. They are a bit pricey , but don't be intimidated by the aggresive fingernail grind.....These are terrific, at least to me. These gouges hold an edge like you can't believe.