PDA

View Full Version : My attempt at a little box

Doug Jones
07-16-2003, 9:05 PM
Well it may not be as good as Kevin's (he is the box master), but it is my first attempt. I still need to work on those miter joints. If your interested and can't tell. Its of Poplar and Walnut with a first coat of boiled linseed oil. The original plans called for the splines to run on the inside of the miters running from top to bottom joining each miter together. I wasn't comfortable with that so I varied the plans to my comfort level, thus the miter splines running where they are.

Don Henthorn Smithville, TX
07-16-2003, 9:20 PM
I'd call that a real nice effort. I like it. Do some more.(-:

Kevin Gerstenecker
07-16-2003, 9:26 PM
Doug, to put it short and sweet, "There ain't nuttin' wrong with that!" :D I like it, it looks good to me! The Poplar you used looks great, especially the top, it is awesome. The only way to improve is to make 'em, and you are definitely on the right track. The corner miters don't look so bad, just a small adjustment will tighten them right up. For your first attempt, I'd say BRAVO! Thanks for sharing the picture of your first box, I really enjoyed it. Now, wasn't that FUN? :D

Jim Becker
07-16-2003, 10:44 PM
Well it may not be as good as Kevin's (he is the box master), but it is my first attempt.

Great job, Doug! Good choice of contrasting materials. You'll like how the poplar browns a little with some UV exposure as it will still contrast very nicely with the walnut.

Don Farr
07-17-2003, 7:35 AM
Very nice. Looks great to me. :D

Ted Shrader
07-17-2003, 8:34 AM
The original plans called for the splines to run on the inside of the miters running from top to bottom joining each miter together. I wasn't comfortable with that so I varied the plans to my comfort level, thus the miter splines running where they are.

Doug -

Box looks great. I think your change adds to the design. They flow up from the legs/feet.

Well done!

Ted

Lee Schierer