PDA

View Full Version : New to turning.....can I get in the Mini-Club?

Andy Howard
01-11-2006, 8:19 PM
I am pretty new to turning, and mostly have just turned pens......but I have been working on some small turnings to start learning the porportions, forms, etc. I had a small piece of pen blank left over in the cutoff box, so I chucked it up and this is what came out.

It is .950 tall, and .600 wide at the top.

I think the cup part itself should have been longer, and the curve radius on the outside of the cup is off.

Let me know what you think.

Andy

Jim Dunn
01-11-2006, 8:29 PM
That's it I quit!!!! I can't even see half the sfuff you people are turning.

Jim

Corey Hallagan
01-11-2006, 8:49 PM
No kidding, I am boxing it up! Well....maybe not.. I will think about it. Amazing work Andy, beginner huh........... Okayyyyyyy... I envision that 2 years from now one of my posts will read...
Don't be to rough on me as this is my latest turning and I am a newbie beginner....sighhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Corey

Dale Thompson
01-11-2006, 8:49 PM
Andy,
That is beautiful work and obviously that of a true artist! :) I'm curious as to the composition of your "blank". :confused: It looks to be almost transparent! :D :)

Dale T.

Bill Stevener
01-11-2006, 9:26 PM
Hi Andy,
One very nice turning. Good looking finish.
I am just really getting in to Micro miniatures, so not coming from an expert, and again for your first try it is really great. I will say what I see.
For a martini glass of sorts, it's rather tall. On the 1/2" scale it is about a 12" glass and or cup and over 6" wide, would make for one tall drink:) . The angle of the cup is what you wish to make it, I don't really believe there is any rule. The stem could be some what thinner, considering the material you used to give it a more delicate look.

Now that I have gone on, I will give you a chance to get back at me in about 1/2 hour. I have attempted my first mini acrylic turnings and hope to have some photos up.