PDA

View Full Version : Hand tool truisms – what say you?

Mike Allen1010
06-28-2021, 2:20 PM
I've been a self-taught hand tool woodworker for 40 years. Over that time I've heard lots of adages, axioms, cliches etc. that capture nuggets of wisdom that apply to our craft. To me, these sayings capture fundamental truths for doing quality work, and if gathered together could form a solid guiding philosophy for somebody interested in hand tool woodworking. I would love to hear the thoughts and insights of my fellow Creekers - what truism/guiding principles do you adhere to? Some common examples might be:

"Measure twice, cut once"

"Having the right tool for the job makes all the difference"

"The most expensive tool is the one you have to replace because the first one you brought didn't work"

I look forward to the groups collective wisdom. All comments are welcome!

Thanks, Mike

Rob Luter
06-28-2021, 2:32 PM
My sig line says it all.

Stew Denton
06-28-2021, 2:50 PM
For the overly meticulous carpenters in the group (I tend to be a little that way):

"Remember, you are building a house, not a piano."

On using tools appropriate for the size of the job:

"Don't try to force it, use a bigger hammer."

Saying of one of the plant craftsman who would sometimes take chances that something he wanted to try might not be a good idea:

"If the part doesn't fit, force it; if it breaks, it needed to be fixed anyway."

My Dad to either one of his two (at the time) teenage sons who was in too much of a hurry to complete something rather than to do a good job on it:

"Don't get in such a big toot." (We knew exactly what he meant.)

On efficient work practices:

"Plan your work and work your plan."

On the value of becoming skilled at your work:

"Do you see a man skilled in his work?"
"He will stand before kings;"
"He will not stand before obscure men." (Proverbs 22:29)

Stew

Edward Weber
06-28-2021, 3:50 PM