PDA

View Full Version : Mortise and Tenon Question

Larry Klaaren
01-10-2006, 8:14 AM
Hi everybody,

I'm still new to the Creek I guess. Anybody out there from Indy?

I am making an oak table right now using mortise and tenons.

The fit was a little too tight, and I chiseled down two of the tenons, and also had to chisel the mortise a bit. All of a sudden, it was too loose. The tenons fall out.

This is my first experience with this small of a mortise and tenon. Actually, my first experience with indoor furniture. My question is, should I put in a shim or something to firm it up, or is there something else to do, or nothing but glue it up? One of them is very loose, the other one has a little contact, but still falls out. The other six are probably OK.

Other than this, the table looks great. I made a jig and got the taper set up, but the rail slid on the very first pass. I forgot to tighten it. However, it made a straight dut, so I just tightened it and all of the tapers are the same. It actually looks more refined than the one I planned to make. My other mistakes also improved the look of the table.:D

Just like public speaking, make it seem like your mistake was your plan I guess!

Thanks,
Larry Klaaren

tod evans
01-10-2006, 8:19 AM
welcome larry. if it was me i`d glue a piece of thin wood to the tennon and trim it to fit after the glue dried. a good snug fit is imperative to the function of the joint. tod

Mark Singer
01-10-2006, 8:53 AM
Do what Tod said and epoxy will help if your joints are not perfect

Larry Klaaren
01-10-2006, 9:03 AM
Ok, I am guessing that I'd make the thin piece and run the grain the same way as on the tenon. I was thinking about that. I'd appreciate knowing if there are any more subtleties to it.

I didn't mention that there is a corner brace also, so that will help too.