PDA

View Full Version : jet miniVS vs the non-VS

Stephen Hibbs
01-09-2006, 10:55 PM
Hi guys, I'm just getting into bowl turning after doing some turning in my highschool woodshop class, and my stepdad offered to get me a lathe for Xmas if I liked it, and now I'm looking at lathes.
With respects to the title of this topic, I was basically wondering if it is a big hassle having to constantly change pulleys, and how many pulleys are on the pully version (perhaps pulley is not the correct word?).
Also, is there a way to speed up the curing process for green bowls; ie put it in a warmed oven or microwave(just curious, I doubt it would work well ;) ) And is it possible to mount a grinder onto the lathe in order to avoid cluttering up the small area I have and cut down on cost?

Looking forward to getting into bowl turning, and I apologize if this has been gone over, I ran a few searches and didn't find anything regarding the grinder issue.

Cecil Arnold
01-10-2006, 12:20 AM
Get the VS, you'll need it, and there is a range for each pulley setting. You can speed up the drying process using Dave Smith's DNA process, from green to finished in about two weeks, depending on the wood type. I don't know about mounting a grinder to the lathe, but sounds like a bad idea IMHO. Welcome to the creek.

John Hart
01-10-2006, 7:16 AM
Welcome Stephen!!! Hope you find this place educational...Not because of me of course, but there is a wealth of experience here and very open and helpful folks. VS? Got my vote. That's all I've ever used so I don't have anything to compare it with but I can't imagine going any other way.