PDA

View Full Version : Diagnosing a no. 4 1/2 Bailey Stanley from the 80s

Assaf Oppenheimer
05-13-2021, 6:54 PM
Hi all, a while ago I got a vintage Stanley Bailey 4 1/2 made in the uk.

My best guess is it’s from the 80s.

I’ve e been struggling with it and wanted to ask some advice.

My first issue was crazy chatter. I fixed it when I realized that by advancing the frog, it no longer had the support of the rear wall of the mouth. Now I have a wider mouth and much less chatter. It’s still giving me a hard time. I’ll advance the blade mid push stroke and get nothing out of it until all of a sudden it gouges the wood. No in between.
the blade is sharp enough to shave with, and the cap iron fits well and close to the edge

my second issue is backlash, I feel like I need to make 3 turns of the adjuster screw to actually get something out of the blade.

I am no expert here, but I do know how to plane reasonably well on my LNs 4 and 8. I know I can’t expect it to be tuned to that level but I would like to get a decent shaving out of the thing.

any advice would be appreciated.

Tom Trees
05-13-2021, 9:10 PM
Not sure if I recall correctly but think David Weaver mentioned this on another plane video or thread.
Would have been better to get that one to you instead of the more recent video he made which I suggested earlier.
https://youtu.be/1q1H7zdTfyk

I think it might have been an issue with the yoke or the slot.

Tom

Jim Koepke
05-13-2021, 9:18 PM
It’s still giving me a hard time. I’ll advance the blade mid push stroke and get nothing out of it until all of a sudden it gouges the wood. No in between.
the blade is sharp enough to shave with, and the cap iron fits well and close to the edge