PDA

View Full Version : Hello all - intro and question about Duracraft

Mike Priest
01-06-2006, 9:07 PM
Hello all, from the middle of Illinois.

I have been lurking here for a few weeks, and wanted to thank you all for some great tips. I am getting into WW and have been buying a few tools as money permits. Last week I happend on a table saw in a pawn shop that I haggled down to 130$ and the postings on how to remove rust (scotchbrite pad, WD40 and orbital sander) came in very handy. I am now the proud owner of a Delta TS300 that looks like new.:)

I see an auction in the paper this weekend that has a Duracraft 36" lathe, and a Duracraft Drillpress. I have never heard of the brand and wondered if any of you know anything about it? I am just a begginner hobby woodworker, and money is pretty short, but I want to buy tools that are decent but at an entry level price. I know many of you spent more on your TS than I did on my entire shop, but I plan to upgrade a piece at a time as it makes sense.

again, Thanks for being there and providing so much info!!

:D My grizzly catalog is on the way so I will have something to drool over!

John Bailey
01-06-2006, 9:24 PM
Mike,

Can't help you with your question, but I can welcome you to the "Creek." It's a great place and you'll get your answer soon.

John

Bruce Page
01-06-2006, 9:32 PM
Hello Mike, welcome to SMC. As I recall, Duracraft was a store brand (Wards?) and was a basic entry level tool of questionable quality. If the price is right (cheap) you wouldn’t have much to loose.

Howard Norman
01-06-2006, 9:33 PM
Mike, I have a Duracraft drill press that I bought maybe 20 years ago. It was made in Taiwan. Fifteen inch with about a five inch stoke. It has served me well all of these years. It only has five speeds and I wish that it had more but the price was right and I have never really considered replacing it. I don't know if Duracraft is still in business or not.

Howard

Dan Oliphant
01-06-2006, 9:40 PM