PDA

View Full Version : Truck Radios?

Joe Wood
02-21-2021, 6:33 PM
My '95 Dodge Ram's been a great work truck and I'm keeping it for awhile longer, but it needs a new radio.

where do I look for a replacement? I don't need anything fancy as I mainly listen to AM. Appreciate any suggestions!

Frederick Skelly
02-21-2021, 7:04 PM
Probably buy a used one at a junkyard or on ebay. But I went to Amazon and searched for > simple car radio < and several were available for under $50.

Howard Garner
02-21-2021, 7:07 PM
Try Crutchfield. I got a replacement for my oloder VW from them. Great fit.
https://www.crutchfield.com/S-YUeDBokMy2p/car/carselector.aspx
Howard Garner

Jim Jackson Wyoming
02-21-2021, 7:09 PM
I'm no expert, and I haven't even stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before, but my experience with any after market AM radio in a vehicle has been a disappointment. I'd look for an OEM radio from a wrecking yard if I wanted a good AM radio.
Edit..I have not tried Crutchfield.

Frederick Skelly
02-21-2021, 7:09 PM
Wow. I didnt know Crutchfield was still in business. That's a great idea!

Warren Lake
02-21-2021, 7:19 PM
ive left what mine came with, I hooked up home speakers to it one day and it sounded very good. Need an antenna though. Tried the cassette and it sounded good till it stopped, then removal was an adventure.

Jim Becker
02-21-2021, 7:24 PM
Crutchfield for sure...they have a handy utility that also helps you ascertain what will fit in and work with your particular vehicle and when required, they can provide the necessary doo-dads and adapters that permit retention of vehicle functions, such as controls on the steering wheel, etc.

Warren Lake
02-22-2021, 1:04 PM
they have controls on the steering wheel? Whats next you are going to tell me there are windows that dont have crank handles to roll them up?

Roger Feeley
02-22-2021, 3:48 PM