PDA

View Full Version : Hitachi C10RJ TableSaw Review

Weogo Reed
02-16-2021, 10:24 PM
Hi Folks,

Shop class in 1971 had a Powermatic tablesaw, I've worked in shops with Rockwell/Delta Unisaws,
on one jobsite we had a Skilsaw screwed under a piece of plywood,
had a 9" Rockwell Contractor's saw and then an 8.25" Makita with a Rousseau fence in my shop.
Over the years have also used Craftsman, and Dewalt & Bosch table-top saws, among others, and
have had my hands on a tilt-table Inca Master.
Currently I'm a volunteer Librarian with the local Tool Library.
A few years ago I sold my 8.25" Makita and got a 10" saw for my current small work space.
Various saws were considered, from those that sit on a table to ones with rolling stands.
I ended up with a Hitachi/Metabo C10RJ and have figured out how to get good results with it:
https://www.metabo-hpt.com/us/main-navigation/item/c10rj-10-jobsite-table-saw-w-fold-roll-stand
The new version is the C10RJ-S:
https://www.metabo-hpt.com/us/main-navigation/item/c10rjs-10-jobsite-table-saw-w-fold-roll-stand-metabo-hpt
(Does anybody know the difference between these two saws?)

Some deciding factors:
⦁ Nice, folding legs, with one leg height adjustable - fast and easy to set/strike, quite stable and a simple, robust design.

⦁ Wheels allow rolling around, and saw tilts up against wall when not in use.
The wheel axles are cantilevered out a bit of distance and look like they could bend over time. I may reinforce the axles.

⦁ Relatively large, aluminum top. The top is not as flat as I would like, but is adequate. Minor bumps can be sanded down.
Fairly precise work can be done with a sled.
As delivered the top was not aligned with the blade, but had just enough play to get it in adjustment.

⦁ Fence is ok, can go left or right, can support thin, wide stock, locks well front and rear, is square, has large capacity of 35".
The knob for adjusting the fence left/right has a cap that kept popping off and had to be glued in place.