PDA

View Full Version : Project record keeping/documentation

Larry Browning
01-06-2006, 9:46 AM
I am making another piece for the bedroom and SWMBO wants the same hardware I used on the entertainment center. Of course I didn't keep the receipts etc from that project. All I know is that I bought the hardware online at one of those hardware places. I have searched for the place for several hours now and have had no luck.
This got me to thinking that I should really do a better job of documenting and record keeping of the projects I do. So, I thought it would be a good idea to ask you guys that keep detailed records of your projects what kind of information and how you have it organized.
Do you for instance have separate files for each project, or do you have one file for each plan/pattern?
What kind of info do you keep? I am a hobby woodworker, so I probably don't need to keep accounting type records. But I was thinking stuff like where I bought the hardware and other materials along with part numbers etc. would be good.
Do you keep the info in a file cabinet or on the computer?

Anyone's input would be greatly appreciated.

Tom Jones III
01-06-2006, 10:23 AM
I keep a folder on each major project. I drop in any plans I used, receipts, notes, etc. For example the chests of drawers I just made, I used two different sized pulls so I cut out the part number from the package and dropped that into the folder. I also sat down every few days and wrote notes about what went wrong over the last couple days and what to do next time.

Bert Johansen
01-06-2006, 12:28 PM
Larry,
I keep a running log of all projects. I enter plans, photos, notes on finishes, etc. for future reference. When I fill up one log, I start a new one.
I keep a separate file for invoices--mainly for tax purposes. I just toss all the receipts into the file and start a new one each year.