PDA

View Full Version : help on mortise and tenon

john mclane
01-04-2006, 9:11 PM
I'm relatively new at WW, especially when I don't have a definitive plan in front of me. I am trying to make a towel/quilt rack similar to the one in the picture from Shakerworkshops.com for a Sabbathday Lake Shaker Towel rack:
I have modified it some to make bigger to hold small quilts and making the joints with mortise and tenon. On the longer cross support I have made them a through mortise and tenon. I want to put a small square wood pin through the joint to strengthen some more.
Do I make a small drill hole (about 1/4" after assembled and then square with my 1/4" chisel? Then shape/trim the pins to the final size and force in. Can I make the drilled hole withthe mortise/tenon glued and dried or should I do when dry assembled. In the later I'm afraid it might wiggle apart and make a larger hole in the tenons.
On the bottom the blind mortises are relatively large about 1" by 7/8". I'm going to glue but since this contraption will get some weight and movement when the quilts are put on and removed should I put a screw in from the bottom. If so I would countersink and put a plug in. Should that be enough?

Jim Becker
01-04-2006, 9:31 PM
You can drill, square and then size the tenon to match using the method of your choice...or you could also employ lose tenon construction using a router to mill mortises in both sides to accomodate a matching "rounded" lose tenon. Both methods are just as strong. The former is likely "more authentic" and it's not a bad idea to learn how to do it, even if you adopt other joinery methods and preferences in the future.

That's going to be a wonderful project, by the way!

Martin Shupe
01-04-2006, 9:59 PM
If you can find the video, "Build a Shaker Table", by Kelly Mehler, buy it.