PDA

View Full Version : Benchtop Spindle Sanders

Joe Gervasio
12-29-2020, 2:30 PM
Hi Everyone,

I trying to decide on which OSS to purchase
I hear poor things about Delta but I was raised to believe Delta is the best
The Jet seems to have mixed reviews primarily positive
I have no experience with Grizzly machines or the quality but I do like the combination Spindle/Drum

Can you guys share your thoughts on the following 3 items or suggest something? Thank You in advance

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Delta-1-2-HP-Heavy-Duty-Bench-Oscillating-Spindle-Sander-with-Tilt-Table-31-483/205112106
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Jet-1-2-HP-5-5-in-Benchtop-Oscillating-Spindle-Sander-with-Spindle-Assortment-110-Volt-JBOS-5-708404/100375603
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Grizzly-Industrial-10-Amp-12-in-Corded-Oscillating-Spindle-Disc-Sander-G0529/310718952

Jim Becker
12-29-2020, 2:32 PM
The Delta of today is not the Delta of yesterday...not even the "same company", per se....

While I like my old Delta OSS with the cast iron top, if I were buying one today, I'd certainly opt for one that has both spindle and belt for more opportunities and flexible use. I have no familiarity with the three units you ask about, unfortunately.

Zachary Hoyt
12-29-2020, 2:35 PM
I will watch this thread with interest. I bought a secondhand Craftsman OSS off eBay about 10 years ago and have used it almost every day since then, to sand wood and brass. I am amazed that it's still going, but someday it'll need to be replaced and I'd like to know what to look for when the time comes.

Lisa Starr
12-29-2020, 2:40 PM
I can't comment on the three sanders you linked. But, I can tell you I have the Ridgid Belt/Spindle Sander, and am very happy with it. Dust collection is lacking, but that is probably the norm for most less expensive models/brands. I chose to purchase from Home Depot to get the Life-Time Warranty.

Dick Mahany
12-29-2020, 2:42 PM