PDA

View Full Version : Wood identity

Cliff Polubinsky
12-08-2020, 4:50 PM
I got this log from a friend. He didn't know what it is but he had been told by a university botanist that the trees on his property were primarily white, red, and he thinks, pin oak.

This doesn't look like white or red oak that I'm familiar with. Could it be pin oak? The log was down for a few years. I'm planning to slice it up and steam it to make some shaker oval boxes.

Here's photos of the long and end grain.

Thanks.
Cliff

Lee Schierer
12-08-2020, 8:34 PM
It definitely is not red oak, which has a porous grain. I also doubt that it is white oak. I'm not familiar with pin oak.

Jamie Hoskins
12-08-2020, 9:38 PM
It reminds me of Pecan, but I am no wood expert.

Stan Calow
12-08-2020, 10:10 PM
I thought pin oak was one of the common varieties that fall in the red oak family.

Dan Lambert
12-08-2020, 10:48 PM
It would be much better to have an end grain picture with something to give it scale, as it's hard to tell whether you have a really good close up lens, or the growth rings are really widely separated.
It also look like there is a good bit of spalting in it, which would be right in line with what you said about it being down for a while. That coloration might change the diagnosis of what it is, but some closer pictures of the face grain and a picture of the end grain that give some scale would help a lot to ID it.

Brian Tymchak
12-09-2020, 10:09 AM
My guess is a very punky hard maple. The thin early wood ring reminds me of maple end grain.

My $0.02.

Jay Michaels
12-09-2020, 2:15 PM
I concur on the "punky hard maple" vote.

kent wardecke
12-09-2020, 2:54 PM
Pin oak is a red oak. Pin oak makes good firewood, lumber. Too many knots
I'll buy spalted maple

Cliff Polubinsky
12-09-2020, 3:56 PM