PDA

View Full Version : How do one man wood shops move large/heavy pieces?

Sean Moore
12-01-2020, 9:12 PM
Ive been building furniture as a side hustle for a few years now out of my garage. In the past couple years, ive built several fairly sizeable pieces, such as a dresser and record cabinet. Both being 5ft long x 3-4ft high x 20" deep. Im curious how other one many shops manage to move pieces around their shop while under construction? I find that I routinely have to move it from my assembly table to saw horse, and back to the assembly table, at various stages, and without a second hand it is dam near impossible?

Short of having someone come over to help me on a regular basis, id like to find a way be able to move pieces around much easier. I have a workbench and assembly table that doubles as a table saw outfeed table, so I frequently need to move pieces off the assembly table to be able to use the table saw. Id like to hear how other one many shops deal with this sort of thing.

Justin Rapp
12-01-2020, 9:34 PM
I have built a few pretty large pieces and have used furniture slides to help move them. I think the heaviest piece I have made so far was an armoire that is pretty much solid hickory. This piece was moved from the basement to a 2nd floor bedroom and I took the doors, drawers and the top off to make it moveable by two people.

However, in the shop, once a piece starts to come together, if it's too heavy to lift to my work bench for assembly, I assemble on the floor.

Doug Dawson
12-01-2020, 9:45 PM
Furniture dollies, floor-level assembly tables, large levering devices, blocks of wood, hoists, straps, and muscle memory (that being the memory of at one time having muscles, since replaced by thoughtful cunning.)

Christopher Herzog
12-01-2020, 9:46 PM
I have five kids and a son in law. They are cheap...

Jamie Buxton
12-01-2020, 10:00 PM