PDA

View Full Version : Critique my dovetails? First attempt at a double

Jason Buresh
09-22-2020, 10:48 AM

This is my first attempt at a double dovetail. Although not perfect, i am happy for a first try. I used a marking gauge and knife for the layout lines, and a dovetail gauge and veritas square for layout. I used a small japanese pull saw for the initial cuts and a coping saw for large waste removal.

One thing i would do differently is to make a relief cut with a chisel to the knife wall instead of relying on the marking lines. I need to find a thinner blade for the coping saw too.

Anyone have any other suggestions?

Robert Engel
09-22-2020, 11:23 AM
I'd say you're off to a pretty darn good start!!!

Yes, you need to do a relief cut if the coping saw line isn't withing 1/8" especially in softwoods.

Dovetails are 75% sawing and 25% chiselling.

I like the Pegasus blades.

Ben Ellenberger
09-22-2020, 11:45 AM
Those look pretty good! Another thing you can do to help get clean baselines is to go back after you’ve sawn and deepen your lines with a knife and a square before you use a chisel to make the relief cuts.

i also try to err very slightly on the side of leaving the pins and tails proud so I don’t have to plane the whole side down to get the joint flush.

ken hatch
09-22-2020, 11:46 AM
Japanese saws and coping saws do not play together well, one's kirf is too thin and the other's blade is too thick. They can be made to work with multiple cuts or you can use a fret saw or the 12" Bow saw from TFWW both blades fit in a Japanese saw kirf.

Or use a western back saw.

ken

Jason Buresh
09-22-2020, 12:17 PM
Ken,

I am going to invest in a fret saw. I am planning on getting the knew concepts 5".

I never thought about the different kerfs. Thanks for pointing that out.

ken hatch
09-22-2020, 12:26 PM
Ken,

I am going to invest in a fret saw. I am planning on getting the knew concepts 5".

I never thought about the different kerfs. Thanks for pointing that out.