PDA

View Full Version : New Member

Michael Charles
01-01-2006, 12:27 AM
Hi Everyone. I just found this site a few days ago. The more I have read the more I have wanted to join. You all seem to be a great bunch of guys. No matter how simple of a question asked, you don’t make the person posting seem like they are stupid, like on another board I had found earlier. I live in Central FL. I am new to WW, again. I had started years ago using my fathers tools when I lived close to my parents. I moved away and really had not seen a tool since. 8-10 years now. Recently my father-in-law gave me several hand me down tools. Old TS, Router, Sanding Station. The bug has hit again. I want to start working wood again. My passion, if I may call it that, is with furniture making. That is what I did with my dad’s tools. Adirondack</ST1:p chairs, tables, swings, one grandfather clock, etc... At the time I thought they looked nice, but upon seeing some of your projects, I am defiantly an amateur. I do hope to get better. I plan on making my wife a grandfather clock, and I would like to build an entertainment center among other things for in and around my home. My workshop, when I get a few more tools will be in my two car garage that I will have to share with my wife’s van. So I will not have much room. As time goes by I will have many questions about what tools I will need, how to do this, what is the best finish for this project. I will save these for a latter post.

Cecil Arnold
01-01-2006, 12:35 AM
Welcome to the creek Michael. There are a number of very talented people here (unfortunately I'm not one) who will give you lots of support and help. Just ask.

David Fried
01-01-2006, 12:51 AM
Welcome to the creek Michael. I wonder if you're the first new member of the year? Just so you have been warned, the one tool that is mandatory here is a camera!! Look forward to seeing your work. Enjoy!!

Dave Fried

John Bailey
01-01-2006, 12:51 AM