PDA

View Full Version : Churchill tenon cutter?

Jason Buresh
09-14-2020, 10:19 PM

I bought this interesting little tenon cutter a while ago. Haven't used it yet, and unfortunately someone else beat me to the cone cutter. I was looking at it tonight and it's stamped W Churchill. The only W Churchill I know is Winston Churchill, and I'm no history expert but I don't think he was famous for his tenon cutters. Anybody know anything about these or when this might have been made. I consulted google but not much came up.

Jim Koepke
09-15-2020, 1:37 AM
Most likely it is Willis Churchill associated with your tenon cutter.

Try searching > churchill hollow auger < and you will likely find more than searching on tenon cutters.

Yours looks like a single size (5/8") cutter. There are also adjustable models:

This is made by E.C. Stearns Co. What is really interesting is last year at a hardware store clean out sale a spoke pointer made by E.C.'s father's company G.N. Stearns was found:

This is all one site had on a Early Willis Churchill Hollow Auger for sale: