PDA

View Full Version : This has been driving me crazy the last few weeks.....

Jeff Body
09-03-2020, 9:30 PM
Sorry another Covid question.

Scott Winners
09-05-2020, 1:52 AM
You know, I really try to avoid these discussions, but I am in before the thread gets locked, so here goes.

I have been a Registered Nurse for 25 years. As a nursing student, I used to tutor microbiology, 25+ years ago. I am currently working in home health (like a district nurse in the UK), so I go to see my patients in their homes where they all have "pre-existing conditions."

The first thing to understand is within the field of microbiology "novel" means we haven't seen this one before. COVID 19 is a novel virus. It is in the corona virus family, and we have known about those for a while, but we haven't seen this exact one before.

Do you remember the early 1980s when homosexuals and hemophiliacs were dying and no one really knew for sure why? We are one step beyond this in the COVID pandemic because we have identified the virus; but what we know now, compared to what we will know 40 years from now is - well - not very much.

Since March I have been averaging something like 55 hours a week. Between June 14, 2020 and Aug 28, 2020 I had four days off. Four.

Here is what I have been doing since March 2020:

The number of my patients on my census who have tested covid + since this thing hit is zero. I did have one admission, a COVID "long hauler" that I picked up after his inpatient admission while he was still presumed contagious and quarantined. So he was already covid + when I picked him up, the rest of my guys I have been able to keep out of trouble, and I got that one out of the woods.

I have kept up with my emails from the hospital I work for.

I have kept up with regular email updates from my home state's department of health.