PDA

View Full Version : Which Wood - Similar to Oak Grain, Easier to Work

Bill Wiggins
12-31-2005, 7:49 AM
I'm looking for a wood species that is similar to Oak grain, so it will match my wife's other kitchen furniture, but perhaps is easier to work with. The last time I worked with oak (I admit that I am a novice at this) there was a big problem with tear-out. It was also difficult to route.

I like working with birch, maple, and walnut. Is there a wood species that has a similar grain to oak but is easier to route?

Joe Mioux
12-31-2005, 7:55 AM
I believe Ash has a similar look.

Dan Gill
12-31-2005, 8:09 AM
Ash has similar grain, and in my experience, similar problems with tear-out and chip-out, especially when routing. The big key is to rout with the grain.

Doug Jones
12-31-2005, 8:38 AM
Never used it, but has the look of oak, Kentucky Coffee tree.

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
12-31-2005, 8:46 AM
Ash has similar grain, and in my experience, similar problems with tear-out and chip-out, especially when routing. The big key is to rout with the grain.

That, and sharp good quality cutters.

I've been making some raised panel door from Ash, it is the 1/4 sawn type and they have turned out fairly nice, I think.

For me, here in Japan, it is MUCH cheaper than Oak.

Cheers!

tod evans
12-31-2005, 8:46 AM
bill, anytime i take a router to oak i "climb cut", minimal if any tearout. don`t try it in a router table though! tod

scott spencer
12-31-2005, 8:54 AM
Hi Bill - Ash has a similar contrast and open grain, but I think the curves of the grain are even prettier than oak. Ash is lighter and will need to be stained to match oak. Sassafras has grain that is very similar to oak. It's color is slightly darker and grayer. Both work well in my experiences with them, and sassafras smells great. The last I knew both were cheaper than oak too!